Please help me learn to do timing on G63B!!

This section is for talk about anything to do with everything in the engine bay.
colt89

Please help me learn to do timing on G63B!!

Post by colt89 »

Hi all, I'm pretty stuck with trying to do the timing on my G63B... I've never done timing before on anything myself, so I've pretty much got no idea what I'm doing!
I had to take the distributor out to replace the inlet manifold gasket, now I can't get my ute running again and I'm getting desperate. Really desperate.

I took the first spark plug out, took the dizzy out, cranked the wheel until the white line was pointing at TDC mark, then I checked with a screwdriver in the sparkplug hole and it hit something, so I"m guessing it was set right, did it again for good measure.
Then I lined up the small circle on the dizzy near the teeth with the notch on the dizzy shaft (not the pin hole, but the small circle next to it) and then I slid the dizzy back in being careful not to turn the wheel on it.
I put all the leads back on and tried to start... nothing... wont turn over :(
TVM006

Re: Please help me learn to do timing on G63B!!

Post by TVM006 »

Won't turn over at all? :wut:
TVMDouble0h!Sixx

1985 GK GSR
colt89

Post by colt89 »

Sorry, it turns but wont start. Starter motor cranks, but engine wont start. It's getting fuel either via the pump or tipping a tiny bit down the carby...
colt89

Post by colt89 »

I think I basically need a step by step (baby steps) guide to doing timing with pictures! :$
krohny

Post by krohny »

It's a lot of instructions for someone to write down, head to a library and see if they have a workshop manual or try everyone's best friend google, that info has to be on the web somewhere.
But a basic starting point should be fuel, which you said you checked.
Air, which shouldn't be blocked if it was not before the work you did