Hello from Manila, Philippines ~ '78 GH Sigma owner

Make yourself known to other members here! Dont be shy!
jbautist2

Hello from Manila, Philippines ~ '78 GH Sigma owner

Post by jbautist2 »

Hello everyone!

I am Jonathan Bautista, 21 years old, from Manila, Philippines. I'm a proud owner of a 1978 Sigma (known as Mitsubishi Galant Σ Sigma here in the Philippines). It's my first car, which I acquired only 4 months ago (September 21, 2010) for a price equivalent to only AU$450.00. It was in good running condition (engine starts in just one-click) so at that low price, I didn't think twice about buying it immediately even though I don't drive yet. I learned to drive only 2 months later; I had to have a driver so I can use it as my daily service vehicle to the University where I am studying.

It has a 4G32 Saturn 1600 engine with stock Solex 28-32DIDTA-9 caburetor (manual choke), mated to the factory-installed optional 5-speed transmission.

I am the fourth owner of this car. The second owner had it for 13 years (1994-2007) and took very good care of it; the car had an engine overhaul, body repair and strip-to-metal paintwork in 1997-98 and had received new front seats, KYB gas shock absorbers on the rear and several stainless goodies - air cleaner, valve cover, distributor and muffler. The third owner had it for only 3 years (2007-2010) and he neglected the car so much which resulted in the current sad cosmetic condition of the car (faded paintwork and lots of rust here and there, some of which have rusted through the metal, especially underneath). The stainless valve cover and distributor survived, but the air cleaner was gone, the muffler was painted and the A/C was dead. The second owner was totally surprised when he saw it.