How to install a factory tacho in non tacho GC/ GD.

All Technical Tips an Tricks' will be located HERE merged from all the forums above.

How to install a factory tacho in non tacho GC/ GD.

Postby 75wagon » Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:12 pm

First find a factory tacho.
Stock clock dash cluster. (before shot)
Image

Stock clock dash cluster removed.
Image

What you need for conversion. Note, tacho needs gauge lense with no hole for clock reset/ adjust.
Image

The wiring for factory clock.
Image

Tacho gear v's Clock gear
Image Image

How to wire the new tacho up.
Image

Tacho installed in cluster.
Image

Instrument cluster installed in housing, all other wires hooked back up
Image

Gauges/ lenses swapped and ready to install back into dash.
Image

You need to get this green wire that is folded back and taped over.
Image

Hook the green wire up to the neg on the coil.
Image

Testing to see if it works, and it does :thumpsup:
Image Image

That's it. Just remember, if you buy a tacho, get the lense cover to go with it...
Dave
If you want any sigma-galant.com stickers, then look here for how to get them sigma-galant.com stickers
User avatar
75wagon
Admin
 
Posts: 5380
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:16 pm
Location: Newcastle/Lake Macquarie
Country: Australia (au)

Re: How to install a factory tacho in non tacho GC/ GD.

Postby stealth » Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:21 pm

what if you got the full poverty pack G
AKA my wagon thats has no clock or taco just plastic ?
does the wire still exsist back there in the wiring loom?
cheers stealth (H)
Image
User avatar
stealth
 
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Gold coast, QLD
Country: Downunder (AU)

Re: How to install a factory tacho in non tacho GC/ GD.

Postby 75wagon » Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:25 pm

yes
If you want any sigma-galant.com stickers, then look here for how to get them sigma-galant.com stickers
User avatar
75wagon
Admin
 
Posts: 5380
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:16 pm
Location: Newcastle/Lake Macquarie
Country: Australia (au)

Re: How to install a factory tacho in non tacho GC/ GD.

Postby C_Fernance » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:21 pm

You forgot the knob on the stereo!!!!

*runs and hides* :D
C_Fernance
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:19 am
Location: Central Coast
Country: Australia (au)

Re: How to install a factory tacho in non tacho GC/ GD.

Postby GC75 » Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:14 pm

me i wasnt fortunate to get a decent lense for the tacho, so i got a clock hole in mine (H)
Image
KEEP SIGMA-GALANT.COM FACEBOOK ACTIVE BY POSTING INFO/PICS AND INVITING PEOPLE!
User avatar
GC75
Admin
 
Posts: 2196
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:30 pm
Location: Gold Coast, QLD
Country: Australia (au)

Re: How to install a factory tacho in non tacho GC/ GD.

Postby 75wagon » Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:26 pm

C_Fernance wrote:You forgot the knob on the stereo!!!!

*runs and hides* :D

Haha.
It was in the console, didn't realise till after the shots were taken...
If you want any sigma-galant.com stickers, then look here for how to get them sigma-galant.com stickers
User avatar
75wagon
Admin
 
Posts: 5380
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:16 pm
Location: Newcastle/Lake Macquarie
Country: Australia (au)

Re: How to install a factory tacho in non tacho GC/ GD.

Postby mrelshauno » Tue May 07, 2013 6:42 pm

I have just finally gotten around to re-installing mine and have a spare wire with plug and was unsure if it was hooked up in the past. I have checked my other spare dash's and they are all the same, a green and a blue wire together with a plug on the end. There is about 3 bits of green insulation tape wrapped around it at intervals. Here is a pic.
Image
What is this for?
Also, at the bottom left corner of the dash near the ash tray there is another plug with a wire as well. These don't look like they have been used. Does anyone know what they are for? Maybe something to do with aircon as it is below the blank near the heater controls?
My tacho doesn't seem to work either. i might take it in to the auto sparkies to do a quick test on the gauge.
Help please!!!
User avatar
mrelshauno
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:00 am
Country: New Zealand (nz)


Return to Technical Tips an Tricks'

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests