1981 GH Sigma ball joints and tie rods

This section is for talk about anything to do with suspension, brakes, or wheels and anything in the general area.
Smokysigma

1981 GH Sigma ball joints and tie rods

Post by Smokysigma »

Hello all,

I have been driving a 1981 GH for 10 years but it was only 2 days ago that I found out about this forum. I didnt know that Sigmas were this popular. Anyway, this is my first post and after searching and reading the forum for the most part of today, I havent found an answer to my problem. Forgive me if this ends up as a repost.

My front ball joints and outer tie rods (closest to the wheels) are absolutely shot. With my trusty Gregory's, Ive managed to pull the control arm and tie rod out of the vehicle without too much trouble. However, I have found that I cant separate the steering arm from the ball joint nor the tie rod from the control arm. Accorging to the Gregory's, you just bash them with a hammer and they're supposed to come loose. This didnt work and upon closer inspection, the tie rod balljoint stud appears to be cast to the ball in the socket as well as to the control arm. Surely this cant be possible. How do you separate these??

All feedback is welcome.

Thanks in advance,

Nick.
astronturbo77
Sigma-Galant Police (Global Mod)

Re: 1981 GH Sigma ball joints and tie rods

Post by astronturbo77 »

if you've got the control arm separate from the vehicle put the steeing arm on the anvil at the back of a bench vice and give the arm a bloody good hit with a decent hammer right on the side where the balljoint passes through the arm, they will separate, just need a good shock. failing that you can buy a mechanical ball joint seperator tool from most auto stores, there is one with a thread and rocker arm and also a fork type that you hammer between the joint. goodluck
BUILT NOT BROUGHT BY ALGIE.
75glnt

Post by 75glnt »

Yea you really gotta bash em mate :)