cold air intake idea.....would this work???

This section is for talk about anything to do with everything in the engine bay.
Rally_2.6LC
Location: Either under a car, on the computer or in bed...around Ryde

cold air intake idea.....would this work???

Post by Rally_2.6LC »

Ok so im no engineer (thought I should state that right from the go) and am serious, and am not after a wank factor.

Was tinkering in my garage last night with my new fuel pump setup and looked up at the intercooler that i obtained as part of a car i bought. My air filter was sitting next to it and I thought.....could an intercooler be used for the simple purpose of cold air intake...ie filter on one end, through intercooler into throttle body???

I am not after a wank factor of having a big intercooler on the front as they can be cop magnets and I do know that intercoolers are for cooling exhaust gas before they go into the throttlebody, but would it cool the air any more?

Would the air flowing through the intercooler be cooled any more with wind chill factor?

Just a thought........

Cheers Matt
'75 GC daily (slowly dying)
'80 LC 2.6L rally car (generally something broken until 2 weeks before an event)
'71 GA 2.6 Turbo project (i only wanted the diff and got another project)
^This side up^

Formely "Matt"
A112H

Re: cold air intake idea.....would this work???

Post by A112H »

I would think the intercooler would create way to much resistance and choke the engine. In a turbo application the air is forced through the cooler by the turbo, I don't think a N/A would make enough vacuum to draw air through a coola'
Rally_2.6LC

Post by Rally_2.6LC »

That was another issue I thought of....have seen those cheep/crappy (apparently turbo like) fans on ebay, or some sort of fan to force air through......
'80 LC 2.6L rally car (generally something broken until 2 weeks before an event)
^This side up^

Formely "Matt"
A112H

Post by A112H »