brake upgrade

This section is for 1969 to 1976 Chrysler/Mitsubishi/Plymouth/Dodge/Colt Valiant/Galant/FTO/GTO/Colt/Cricket.

brake upgrade

Postby Jordan1249 » Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:52 pm

After a brake updrage something i can bolt straight into my gc in in an hour or 2 no modifications needes haha that are bigger and better brakes
Jordan1249
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:57 pm
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby Scorpma82 » Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:11 pm

Y r u needing bigger brakes first of all?????

Are u fitting a bigger engine?????

As far I can see u have 3 options:

1) you use slotted/drilled rotors, performance pads, fluid and steel braided lines
2) there has been a lot of chatter about using Sigma components that can be useful
3) Hoppers Stoppers has a bolt in brakes upgrade for our cars (minimum 15" wheels needed)
Built with pride, Driven in anger
Scorpma82
Sigma-Galant Police (Global Mod)
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:48 am
Location: melbourne
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby Jordan1249 » Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:07 pm

Fitting a 2L sigma and dont wanna fuck around with brakes personally dont wanna do it hahah
Jordan1249
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:57 pm
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby Scorpma82 » Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:30 pm

If ur really budget conscious, option 2 is best
If your happy to pour money, option 1 is best
Built with pride, Driven in anger
Scorpma82
Sigma-Galant Police (Global Mod)
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:48 am
Location: melbourne
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby davetrees » Wed Nov 12, 2014 6:21 am

Standard GC brakes should be fine if in good condition ... the 2L was the stock motor in them in Japan, remember! GC/GD Galant run the same front brakes as GE Sigma anyway.

Put some decent pads & shoes on it, and replace your brake hoses (including the one from body to rear axle) ..... even new rubber hoses make a massive difference compared to ones that are 40 years old !
User avatar
davetrees
 
Posts: 1044
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:02 am
Location: Sth Gippsland, Victoria
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby 75wagon » Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:30 am

davetrees wrote:the 2L was the stock motor in them in Japan, remember! GC/GD Galant run the same front brakes as GE Sigma anyway.

Is that good enough for an engineer though? (I'm thinking rego).
Has anyone in NSW ever got a 2 litre in a Galant through rego before? I've never heard of it, as everyone goes straight for the 2.6.

Dave...
If you want any sigma-galant.com stickers, then look here for how to get them sigma-galant.com stickers
User avatar
75wagon
Admin
 
Posts: 5867
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:16 pm
Location: Newcastle/Lake Macquarie
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby davetrees » Wed Nov 12, 2014 4:51 pm

Don't see why you couldn't ....... as I understand it the Australian factory workshop manual for the GC actually lists the 2L motor as an option, even though it was never released in Australia that way ? (same way the Chrysler Australia manual for the 4G32 motor shows the twincarb / GS version .... it's a re-covered copy of the Jap manual))

As long as the car passed the brake test it would be fine anyway, wouldn't it ?
User avatar
davetrees
 
Posts: 1044
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:02 am
Location: Sth Gippsland, Victoria
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby Jordan1249 » Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:30 pm

I am gunna work the shit outta it n/a and yer planning on replacing fronts as rear has been replaced
Jordan1249
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:57 pm
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby VGJONO » Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:12 pm

I am very happy with my Rebuilt Standard calipers with a half decent set of pads and slotted and dimpled rotors. they put up with a fair bit of abuse before they fade.
Image

rebuild kit and hone probably cost less than $50 all up, pads i had sitting around so cant recall what they cost and my rotors i got off of ebay for around the $160 mark.

Cheers
VGJONO :thumpsup:
User avatar
VGJONO
 
Posts: 1243
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:21 pm
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby Jordan1249 » Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:53 pm

I dont have a brake booster and dont plan on getting one so would like the bigger Breaks haha
Jordan1249
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:57 pm
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby VGJONO » Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:52 pm

Who said I had a brake booster...... :P
User avatar
VGJONO
 
Posts: 1243
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:21 pm
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby Scorpma82 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 10:42 pm

You won't feel any difference in pedal feel if u dont increase the volume inside the calipers/brake master cylinder/wheel cylinders.
Built with pride, Driven in anger
Scorpma82
Sigma-Galant Police (Global Mod)
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 6:48 am
Location: melbourne
Country: Australia (au)

Re: brake upgrade

Postby karl_2ltgc » Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:16 pm

GH sigma brakes bolt in if you swap the entire strut. I did it on my car about 10 years ago. 256mm rotors and pads are cheap as they are the same as early commodores.
User avatar
karl_2ltgc
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:38 pm

Re: brake upgrade

Postby Lurch15 » Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:09 am

In the ACT you'd never get it through rego without an engineering certificate, due to the engine number they will find out its not the factory engine for the car, you'll get recalled to go in and they will fail you for heaps, as for NSW I'm not sure, they'll most likely pull you up on it but theres a chance you can get away with it..
Cheers, Brendan.
Lurch15
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:43 pm
Location: ACT
Country: Australia (au)


Return to Galant's Garage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest